Salt Lake Criminal Defense Attorney Utah
Call Criminal Defense Attorney in Utah
Call Utah Criminal Lawyer
Veteran Criminal Defense Attorneys / Former Prosecutors
Call 801-449-1409 now to see what our team can do for you.
Utah Criminal Defense Lawyer Salt Lake City

Criminal Defense Solutions Start HereSM

Finding a Felony Defense LawyerChoosing a Misdemeanor Defense LawyerDrug and Alcohol Crimes Defense LawyerWhite Collar Defense Attorney for Utah ChargesAttorney for Expungements Reductions and PardonsDefendant Constitutional Rights Criminal LawyerBail and Bond Alternatives in UtahReasons for Hope Facing Criminal Charges

Utah DUI Attorney Salt Lake - Utah Code 41-6a-503

What are the potential penalties for DUI conviction in Utah?

DUI Lawyer Salt Lake City, UtahDepending on the circumstances, DUI charges in Utah can typically be filed as class B misdemeanors, class A misdemeanors, or third-degree felonies. The potential penalties associated with a DUI charge can vary greatly depending on the level of the offense.

If you are facing prosecution for DUI in Utah, it is important to understand your rights as well as the potential penalties. It is also critical to have the assistance of an experienced defense attorney. Based in Salt Lake City, criminal defense attorney Stephen Howard provides legal services to clients throughout Utah. Contact us now to arrange for a confidential consultation.

Utah Code 41-6a-503 - Penalties for Driving Under the Influence

Third-Degree Felony DUI

A Utah DUI charge can be filed as a third-degree felony if:

  • the defendant has two or more prior convictions within 10 years for DUI, Impaired Driving, Alcohol-Related or Drug-Related Reckless Driving, or Driving with a Measurable Controlled Substance or Metabolite;
  • the defendant negligently caused an accident that resulted in serious bodily injury to another person (injury to the defendant alone does not provide grounds for a felony DUI enhancement);
  • the defendant has been previously convicted of automobile homicide under Utah Code 76-5-207; or
  • the defendant has been previously convicted of a felony DUI (even if the felony was subsequently reduced to a misdemeanor under Utah Code 76-3-402).
If serious injury forms the basis for the felony DUI enhancement, then a separate charge can be filed against a defendant for each individual who is injured as a result of the Defendant's negligent operation of a vehicle. This means, for example, that if three other people receive serious injuries in a DUI-related accident, the driver may face three separate felony DUI charges.

A third degree felony DUI is punishable by up to five years in prison and $9,500 (fine plus surcharge). In addition, a court may order the defendant to pay restitution for the costs of any damage or injuries caused as a result of the defendant's criminal conduct. Payment of restitution can be made a condition of probation (if probation is granted), or may be monitored by the Board of Pardons and Parole following the defendant's release from prison.

Class A Misdemeanor DUI

A DUI charge in Utah can be filed as a class A misdemeanor if:

  • the defendant operated the vehicle in a negligent manner and caused "bodily injury" (less serious than a "serious" injury) to another person (injury to the defendant alone will not support this enhancement);
  • the defendant was older than 21 years of age and had a passenger under the age of 18 in the vehicle at the time the DUI offense was committed; or
  • the defendant (regardless of the defendant's age) had a passenger under the age of 16 in the vehicle at the time of the offense.
If injury serves as the basis for this enhancement, a separate class A misdemeanor can be filed for each person injured as a result of the defendant's conduct.

Penalties for a class A misdemeanor DUI can be up to one year in jail plus $4,750 (fine and surcharge). Restitution may also be ordered as a condition of probation (if probation is granted). If the full jail term is ordered, restitution may still be ordered but will normally be collected through the State Office of Debt Collection.

Class B Misdemeanor DUI

DUI charges in Utah begin at the level of a class B misdemeanor if no enhancements apply. If no circumstances exist to support an enhanced DUI, the charge should be filed as a class B misdemeanor.

The maximum penalty for a class B misdemeanor DUI is six months in jail and a fine (including surcharge) of up to $1,900. Restitution may also be ordered for any damages caused by the defendant's criminal conduct.

Collateral Consquences of a Utah DUI Conviction

In addition to potential jail time, prison time, and thousands of dollars in court fines, a DUI conviction in Utah can carry other collateral consequences. These can include a driver license suspension, ignition interlock device requirements, and increased insurance premiums.

A DUI conviction also requires an extended waiting period before it may be eligible for expungement. While an ordinary class B misdemeanor is eligible for expungement after a four-year waiting period, a class B misdemeanor DUI conviction requires a ten-year waiting period. A felony DUI conviction is not eligible for expungement, even after ten years, unless a reduction of the level of offense is granted under Utah Code 76-3-402.

Finding a Utah DUI Attorney in Salt Lake

Utah Criminal LawyerIf you have been arrested or received a citation for a DUI charge in Utah, having the assistance of an experienced criminal defense attorney can be vital to your case. In addition to the maximum penalties discussed in this page, certain minimum mandatory sentencing requirements apply to DUI convictions in Utah. Criminal lawyer Stephen Howard has successfully defended his clients' rights in many serious felony and misdemeanor prosecutions. He has a track record of achieving real results.

Based in Salt Lake City, Mr. Howard provides legal services to clients throughout Utah. Contact us today to arrange for a confidential consultation.

RELATED CRIMINAL DEFENSE TOPICS


Best Rating
Make a Payment to Your Account
Get Help Now
Name: Email: Phone: Describe your legal needs here:
I accept the disclaimer below.
Disclaimer: No attorney-client relationship is established by the use of this form. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be submitted through this form. By clicking 'submit' I am only requesting that I be contacted for the purpose of obtaining legal services.

This form protected by reCAPTCHA.

  • Selected Victories
  • Criminal Defense AttorneyDismissed - Contractor was charged with theft by deception for allegedly misusing customer funds and failing to complete work that had been agreed upon. A successful motion to quash on legal grounds following the bindover order at preliminary hearing resulted in a complete dismissal of all charges.
  • Criminal Appeals Defense AttorneyDismissed on Appeal - DUI case was dismissed after a successful appeal where the Utah Court of Appeals reversed the trial court's denial of the defense motion to suppress. Without the suppressed evidence, the prosecutor acknowledged that they did not have sufficient evidence to proceed to trial and the case was dismissed.
  • Utah Expungement Lawyer Expunged - Client with prior conviction for violent felony was ineligible for expungement through the courts. A successful 2-step reduction restored expungement eligibility and ultimately led to the court's decision to grant the requested expungement.
  • Utah Burglary Defense Attorney Not Guilty - Client was charged with second-degree felony residential burglary and facing potential prison time. Investigation by the defense revealed multiple witnesses, missed by police and prosecutors, who supported client's claim of innocence. At trial, the jury returned a "not guilty" verdict on all charges.
  • Recent Posts
  • What Constitutes Drug Parpahernalia in Utah How is drug paraphernalia defined in Utah? - The definition of drug paraphernalia under the Utah criminal code looks at both the nature of the object and also the intended use of the object in question. . . .
  • Utah Misdemeanor Attorney Salt Lake Can I handle a Utah misdemeanor from out-of-state? - Even if you do not intend to take your case to trial, a misdemeanor criminal offense in Utah can require multiple court appearances to reach a resolution. If you have been charged with a crime in Utah, but are not a Utah resident, an experienced criminal defense attorney may be able to help you resolve the case without returning to the state. . . .
Best Utah Criminal Defense Strategy

Successfully defending against criminal prosecution requires more than just an 'aggressive' defense. The best defense attorneys understand that a sophisticated defense requires a thorough understanding of a variety of nuanced legal issues, real experience in the courtroom, good negotiation skills, and much more. Fighting hard is good. Fighting smart is better....

Strategy »
Salt Lake Criminal Defense Attorney Profile Utah

Defending against a criminal prosecution in Utah is a job that has to be done right the first time. Choosing the right attorney to defend you can be the most important decision you make. Our attorneys have extensive experience handling some of the most serious felony and misdemeanor charges on the books in Utah. No matter what charges you are facing, we can help....

Experience »
Conviction Consequences - Utah Criminal Defense

In Utah, even a "minor" misdemeanor conviction carries the potential for jail time and significant fines. A felony conviction carries the potential of lengthy prison terms and the various consequences that come with being labeled as a convicted felon. Never plead guilty without first finding out....

Consequences »
Utah Criminal Defense Attorney - Reasons to Hope

Being charged with a crime is not the same as being convicted. But just being charged can affect more than you may have imagined - jail, job, family, bills, rent or mortgage. It can feel like everything has gone wrong, and may you wonder if anything can go right. But facing criminal prosecution does not mean giving up hope....

Reasons to Hope »
Home | Attorney Profile | Case Results | Criminal Code | FAQ | Legal Resources | Defense Strategy | Contact Us

Serving Salt Lake, Davis, Weber, Utah, Cache, Tooele, Summit, Box Elder, and Wasatch Counties, and all of Utah.

Attorney Stephen Howard practices as part of the Canyons Law Group, LLC and Stephen W. Howard, PC.

Offices in Salt Lake and Davis Counties
560 South 300 East, Suite 200, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
952 S. Main St., Suite A, Layton, UT 84041

Call now to arrange for a confidential initial consultation with an experienced and effective Utah criminal defense lawyer.

In Salt Lake City, call 801-449-1409.
In Davis County, call 801-923-4345.

Stephen W. Howard, PC

The materials in this website are intended for informational purposes only, and are not legal advice. Viewing or responding to materials in this site does not create an attorney-client relationship. Read Full Disclaimer.